Suarez named in World Footballer of the Year shortlist

Luis Suarez is one of the 23 players in contention for the World Football of the Year award after his inspired form for Liverpool since joining in January 2011.

Former Liverpool player Xabi Alonso is also nominated for the prestigious Ballon d’Or.

France Football’s European Player of the Year and Fifa World Player of the Year trophies were merged in 2010 to make this new ‘World Football of the Year’ award.

It is voted for by coaches, captains of international teams and respected journalists.  Lionel Messi was the inaugural winner in 2010 and this year features 8 Barcelona players in the nominations.

Fernando Torres finished 3rd in the FIFA award back in 2008 whilst at Liverpool.

The traditional European Ballon d’Or has had some Liverpool representation over the years.

Dalglish (2nd in 1983)
Owen (Won in 2001)
Gerrard (3rd in 2005)
Torres (3rd in 2008)

The full list of nominations for the 2011 award is: 

Eric Abidal (France)
Sergio Aguero (Argentina)
Karim Benzema (France)
Iker Casillas (Spain)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
Dani Alves (Brazil)
Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon)
Cesc Fabregas (Spain)
Diego Forlan (Uruguay)
Andres Iniesta (Spain)
Lionel Messi (Argentina)
Thomas Muller (Germany)
Nani (Portugal)
Neymar (Brazil)
Mesut Ozil (Germany)
Gerard Pique (Spain)
Wayne Rooney (England)
Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany)
Wesley Sneijder (Holland)
Luis Suarez (Uruguay)
David Villa (Spain)
Xabi Alonso (Spain)
Xavi (Spain).

The winner will be announced on the 9th January 2012 in Zurich.

One comment on
Suarez named in World Footballer of the Year shortlist

  1. Suarez is the best, he was amazing in the World Cup and player of the Copa America (top scorer) too, he performs at top level everytime, unlike Messi and Rooney (i.e tounaments). He has been fantastic in the Premier League, scoring and creating chances, there is nobody betterr!!!!

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.