Four Liverpool players make PFA Award shortlists

Four Liverpool players have been named on the PFA Awards shortlists for the 2013-14 season.

Suarez, Sterling, Sturridge and Gerrard are all involved.

Sturridge celebrates goal against West Brom

Daniel Sturridge is nominated for both main awards

The prestigious PFA Player of the year award features three Liverpool players on it's six man shortlist

Adam Lallana (Southampton)
Yaya Toure (Man City)
Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

The Young Player of the year award shortlist is:

Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
Ross Barkley (Everton)
Aaron Ramsey (Arsenal)
Luke Shaw (Southampton)

Last season saw Gareth Bale pick up both prizes at an event that saw Luis Suarez' name booed by his fellow professionals.

Steven Gerrard won the Player of the Year award in 2006, and won the Young Player of the Year award in 2001 - the last Liverpool representative for both awards.

In total the reds have had 5 award winners in each of the categories since the awards inception 40 years ago this season.

In the women's game Liverpool also have three players on the six player shortlist – Lucy Bronze, Natasha Dowie and Nicole Rosler.

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.